News Article 02/12/2005

Greeks celebrate their industry's achievers (Newsfront Vol.6/ No. 45 December 02, 2005)

02/12/2005 - Newsfront Vol.6/ No. 45, December 02,2005

Some 1,100 shipping people from Greece and abroad gathered November 25 in Athens to celebrate the Greek maritime industry and honour some of those who have played a role in influencing many of its achievements. They hardly needed the encouragement of IMO secretary general Efthimios Mitropoulos, who, in a message, urged them to take pride and spread the shipping word.

Mitropoulos, unable to be in Athens because the event clashed with IMO's 24th Assembly in London, in his message said: "This occasion provides an opportunity to celebrate excellence and high achievement within Greek shipping. Although today you are saluting the top of the pyramid in terms of innovation, technical expertise and skill, you should also recognise and take pride in the fact that these same qualities can be found running deep within shipping." He said shipping actually has a very good story to tell, and this must be "spread beyond Greece to a global audience".

During the gathering at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel, 12 awards were presented as Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2005, allowing the community time to reflect on the accomplishments of Greek shipping, not only in the commercial sphere but also towards the global industry''s technological and ethical achievements.Nothing reflected these achievements more than the Greek Shipping Personality of the Year Award and the Lloyd's List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award. Sponsored and presented by RBS, the personality of the year award went to John Angelicoussis, who leads the drybulk operation, Anangel Maritime Services, the tanker group Kristian Navigation and the fast-expanding gas carrier operation, Maran Gas Maritime, making the Angelicoussis group Greece's largest shipping empire, running nearly 8m dwt. The lifetime achievement award, sponsored by Alpha Bank, went to Captain Panagiotis Tsakos, founder of the Tsakos Group.
Awards presented in the other 10 categories and the winners were:

_ Dry Cargo Company of the Year, sponsored and presented by ABN Amro Bank: the Restis Group

_ Tanker Company of the Year, sponsored and presented by Hellenic Exchanges Group: Dynacom Tankers Management

_ Passenger Line of the Year, sponsored and presented by Germanischer Lloyd: Minoan Lines

_ Shipbroker of the Year, sponsored and presented by Marichem Marigases: George Moundreas & Co

_ Shipping Financier of the Year, sponsored and presented by Gr. J Timagenis Law Office: Royal Bank of Scotland

_ Piraeus International Centre Award, sponsored and presented by The American Club: the Piraeus Marine Club

_ Technical Innovation sponsored and presented by Chevron Fuel and Marine Marketing: Ulysses Systems

_ Achievement in Safety or Environment Protection, sponsored and presented by Lloyd's Register: the Union of Greek Shipowners

_ Seafarers of the Year, sponsored and presented by Tsavliris Group: Captain Yiannis Lazarou, of Victoria Steamship''s Nicolaos A

_ Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year, sponsored and presented by XRTC Business Consultants Ltd: Anthony Argyropoulos

_ Man of the Sea: Lou Kollakis