News Article 29/11/2005

Angelicoussis is personality of the year at Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards by Nigel Lowry

29/11/2005 - Lloyds List ( November 29, 2005)

JOHN Angelicoussis accepted the Personality of the Year Award at the second Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards gala dinner last Friday on a night dominated by big names in the industry.
Mr Angelicoussis won the award for his group''s pioneering move into liquefied natural gas carriers, including its steps taken to train a pool of Greek officers to operate this kind of tonnage, on top of the Angelicoussis group''s existing record in both the tanker and dry bulk sectors.
For Lamros Varnavides, director of shipping for sponsor Royal Bank of Scotland, presenting the award to Mr Angelicoussis was his second appearance on stage during the evening, having already stepped up to take the Shipping Financier of the Year trophy on RBS' behalf. The bank this year consolidated its position as the largest lender to Greek shipping.
Other major shipowners honoured in front of more than 1,000 guests in the ballroom of the Athenaeum InterContinental hotel included Panagiotis Tsakos, recipient of the first Lloyd's List/ Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award for services to shipping as well as to Hellenism.
Victor Restis accepted the award for Dry Cargo Company of the Year on behalf of First Financial, holding company for his group''s dry cargo shipping activities. One of the keys to First Financial''s win was its takeover of the 32-vessel dry bulk fleet of Malaysian International Shipping Corp. George Prokopiou took the Tanker Company of the Year honour for Dynacom Tankers Management, cited as "epitomising the amazing modernisation and renewal of Greece's tanker fleet" as well as being one of the first Greek operators to invest in LNG carriers.
Other companies honoured included Minoan Lines as Passenger Line of the Year, George Moundreas & Company - the 2005 Shipbroker of the Year, and software company Ulysses Systems, winner of the Technical Innovation Award for its Task Assistant software suite.
The Piraeus Marine Club, launched in 1967, won the first Piraeus International Centre Award, while the Union of Greek Shipowners, represented by president Nicos Efthymiou, collected the Safety or Environmental Achievement Award for its campaign for robust, safer shipbuilding.
Emotional highlights of the three-hour prize giving included a special award to Lou Kollakis, unveiled as "Man of the Sea" for 2005. Mr Kollakis was presented with the award by George Vlachos, the Greek Ministry of Merchant Marine''s general secretary for ports and port policy for his Majestic International Cruises' donation of a ship to aid tsunami victims in Sri Lanka for two months early in 2005.
Huge applause greeted John Lazarou, master of a Victoria Steamship-operated bulk carrier, who was flown back from Australia to attend the awards. Capt Lazarou was adjudged Greek Seafarer of the Year for his action in saving 15 Indonesian fishermen last July after the men had been in the water for two days.
Anthony Argyropoulos of Cantor Fitzgerald was named Lloyd's List's Newsmaker of the Year for his role in a number of high-profile Greek shipping public offerings in 2005 as well as last year.
In a glamorous preamble to the announcement of the award winners, the winner of this year's Eurovision Song Contest, Elena Paparizou -the first Greek winner - saluted Greeks as the "No.1" shipping nation in the world. She then received a special award, presented on behalf of Lloyd''s List and the wider maritime community by alternate Minister of Culture Fani Palli Petralia.
Sponsors of this year's Greek Shipping Awards included overall event sponsor Ernst & Young and award sponsors ABN-AMRO, Alpha Bank, The American Club, Chevron Fuel and Marine Marketing, Germanischer Lloyd, the Gr. J Timagenis Law Office, Hellenic Exchanges, Lloyd's Register, Marichem Marigases Worldwide Services, Royal Bank of Scotland, Tsavliris Salvage Group and XRTC Business Consultants.
Guests enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail sponsored by TOP Tankers, and Allied Shipbroking sponsored a final champagne toast proposed by Peter Rigby, chief executive of Informa, Lloyd's List's publisher.
The awards were adjudicate by an independent panel of judges representing the Greek shipping community as well as industry experts.
The event was also supported by the Union of Greek Shipowners, the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping, the Association of Greek Passenger Shipping Companies, the Hellenic Shipbrokers Association, Helmepa, the Propeller Club and in London the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee.