News Article 03/02/2006 E

 2nd Lloyd's List Awards (ELNABI, January 2006, p.90)

03/02/2006 - ELNABI, January 2006, p.90

The prizes of Lloyd's List aim at honoring the best companies of the Greek shipping and, through them, our shipping the world's top power. This year the sponsors of the celebration were Ernst & Young, ABN AMRO, Hellenic Exchanges, Germanischer Lloyd, Marichem Marigases, Gr. J. Timagenis, Chevron, Lloyd's Register, Tsavliris Salvage & Towage, Alpha Bank, XRΤC, RBS. The supporters of the event were EEE, NEE, COMITEE, SEEN, HSA, HELMEPA, PROPELLER CLUB.
The electing committee consisted of: Vasso Armogeni, Dinos Caroussis (COMMITEE), Nicos Efthymiou (EEE), Markos Foros (Propeller CΙub), George Gratsos (NEE), Capt. John Halas (PNO), Nigel Lowry (Lloyd's List), Prof. Apostolos Papanikolaou (NTUA), Vicky Roussos (WISTA), John Α. Xylas (Marine Club). The celebration began with a symbolic prize awarded to Elena Paparizou who got the 1rst prize at EUROVISI0N. Restis Group won the prize as the Dry Cargo Company of the Year. The prize was awarded by Mr. Anagnostopoulos of ΑΒΝ AMRO. Enterprises Shipping doubled its fleet within 2005 by purchasing 32 bulk carriers from MISC. Mr. Victor Restis, the group's president and managing director, expressed his gratitude to his associates, the banks as well as all the parties who helped bring this deal to completion.
Mr. Restis dedicated the prize to the memory of his late father Stamatis Restis, founder of the Group and to all his associates. Dynacom Tankers was awarded as the Tanker Company of the Year. Making a point to the guests, Mr. G. Procopiou made a reference to his career saying that success is credited to his family and to Dynacom's personnel, who contributed to the creation of a modern company with 30 newly-built tankers and LNGs as well as a significant number of second-hand ships which trade at very good freight rates.
Ιn the category of Passenger Companies, the prize was awarded to MINOAN LINES and was handed over by Germanischer Lloyd.
The Shipbroker's prize went to the company G. Moundreas. Shipping Financier of the Year was Royal Bank of Scotland. The prize was taken by Mr. Lambros Varnavidis director of Royal Bank of Scotland Shipping Division.
Ιn the category of Piraeus International Centre Award, the winner was the Piraeus Marine Club. The prize was given by Mr. Tsimis of the American Club and was taken by Mr. John Xylas president of the Marine CΙub, who promised to turn Marine CΙub into a center of attraction of shipping. Mr. Lου Kollakis was awarded the prize of the Man of the Sea. Mr. John Angelicoussis, of Maran Gas Maritime, Krsiten Navigation and Anangel Maritime was declared Personality of the Year. Mr. Angelicoussis stressed that the success of the group is rather the work of a team of people focusing their efforts οn the company''s progress rather than an individual achievement. Concluding, Mr. Angelicoussis thanked his family and the organizers. Mr. Nic. Tsaνliris awarded as Seafarer of the Year Captain Lazarou of Victoria Steamship.
The prize of Technical lnnovator was awarded to Ulysses System. Chevron awarded the prize to Mr. Pantelis of Ulysses.
Lloyd's Register awarded the prize of Safety Environmental Protection to the Greek Union of Ship-owners and its president Mr. Efthimiou. Mr. George Xiradakis of XRTC Business Consultants awarded the prize of the Greek Shipping News Maker to Mr. Ant. Argiropoulos. Mr. Chr. Kokkinis from Alpha Bank awarded the prize Propeller CΙub Lifetime Achievement. Captain Panagiotis Tsakos took the above prize expressing his thanks for this significant honor. Talking to the guest, captain Panagiotis called to its mind the years he used to travel with the older ships of Greek shipping.
His voyage with the blessings of his parents led him to the top positions of shipping. He made a reference to his wife, his children and his associates, making a wish that this voyage will last as much as God may will; he also wished that the new generation come υρ to the standard of the older one and even get ahead of it.